Connecticut has a remarkable built heritage that stretches back nearly 400 years and  encompasses places from the Colonial to the Modern eras and everything in between. This body of work gives the state a deep connection to its past, a distinctive identity in the present, and a richly layered foundation on which to build for its future. Jointly presented by AIA Connecticut and the Connecticut Trust for Historic Preservation, the Elizabeth Mills Brown award recognizes projects that are noteworthy both as respectful preservation of historic places and as excellent architectural designs. The award is named for the architectural historian and preservationist Elizabeth Mills Brown, who as writer and activist awakened Connecticut residents to the state’s architectural riches and the need to protect them.

Click Here to Register 

Registration Opens: August 5th
Registration Deadline: August 30th
Submission Deadline: September 20th

2019 Judges: 

Frederick A. Bland, FAIA, AICP, Beyer Blinder Belle, Branford, Connecticut
Garry S. Leonard, AIA, Garry S. Leonard Architect, LLC, Madison, Connecticut
Robert Tierney, former chair, New York City Landmarks Preservation Commission, Old Lyme, Connecticut

-Projects must be in Connecticut  and involve the restoration, rehabilitation, or reuse of historic buildings.
-Projects may include Form-Based Codes for historic areas.
-Projects must have been completed no earlier than June 30th, 2012

Submission Requirements: 

-Projects will be judged to the Secretary of Interior’s Standards in one or more of the four preservation approaches recognized by the Standards: Preservation, Rehabilitation, Restoration, or Reconstruction.
-Submissions should describe clearly and concisely how projects follow the Secretary’s Standards (750 Words)

Graphic Material:
a maximum of eight (8) images which should include:

~Interior and exterior project photographs drawings, plans, and elevations
~Images are JPG at 150 dpi, and 1536 x 1024 pixels minimum landscape or portrait (High resolution)