Who are the Circuit Riders?

Photo credit: Peter Morenus, UConn Photo.

The 2018 Merit Awards were the best yet.

At a lively celebration at the Edmond Town Hall in Newtown, the Connecticut Trust announced its 2018 Merit Awards.  The visions and hard work behind each award are triumphant success stories of historic preservation’s value in our local economies and cultural life.  Click here for a description of the 4 Award categories. The winners were:

Trustee’s Award for Stewardship

George Malkemus and Anthony Yurgaitis, for their reclamation and reactivation of Arethusa Farm.

They have preserved 300 acres of agricultural land with numerous historic houses and barns, rehabilitated historic commercial buildings in the village of Bantam, stimulated strong visitor traffic, and created 250 jobs on the farm and in the production, wholesale, and retail chain. Arethusa is exemplary as compatible economic development in a place with a strong agricultural identity and as a stewardship engine to protect historic resources and character.  Read More. 


Janet G. Jainschigg Award

John Herzan, Branford, retiring Preservation Services Officer, New Haven Preservation Trust.

For forty years, John Herzan has dedicated his professional skills and personal talents to recognizing and protecting Connecticut’s historic places, first as National Register/State Register coordinator for the Connecticut Historical Commission and then as Preservation Services Officer for the New Haven Preservation Trust.  Click here for Prior Winners.

Mimi Findlay Award

Regan Miner, historical consultant, Norwich Historical Society and City of Norwich.

Regan Miner has already made important contributions to preservation and public history in Norwich.  She has secured grant funding, overseen building maintenance and renovation, established historic walking trails, coordinates activities among a wide range of historical organizations, and serves as a volunteer on local boards and the Norwich historic district commission.  Read More. 

Preservation Awards

Various winners, for their efforts to preserve and protect the architectural and archeological heritage of Connecticut.  Click here for Prior Winners.  The 2018 winners include:

Know of a worthy person or project?

Become a Member or Donate Today!